This week I tried the Copper Chef Copper Crisper.

I bought the pan online and was expecting it to be the size of a regular baking sheet. I didn’t actually read the dimensions because I was so anxious to try this product. When it came I was a little disappointed in the small size. In the future I may need to buy a second one.

The first food I tested with the Copper Crisper was bacon. Of course it was bacon. Unfortunately, as you can see in the picture, I wasn’t able to fit much bacon into the pan. It was only half of a package and I needed a full package for my family. So I did the second half in the microwave for comparison.

Both batches of bacon came out about the same. This was thick-cut bacon, so it ended up a little chewy in the fat parts in both cases. I thought the pan under the crisper would catch more grease than it did, but half of the grease stayed on top of the bacon. Although the crisper may be a slightly healthier alternative, it didn’t seem to be worth it to make half of what I needed. I’ll probably stick to making bacon on my griddle (not pictured).

My second test involved a few red potatoes, olive oil, and spices. I sliced the raw potatoes, tossed them in the oil, and added Italian spices. Then I shoved it into the oven on 500 and baked for 15 minutes.

The potatoes came out pretty perfect. After I sprinkled some Parmesan cheese on top they were delicious. The insides were soft and the outsides were crispy. The best part was that I didn’t have to flip the potatoes halfway through. I always hate that part. And they didn’t end up chewy on the bottom from laying in the oil.

In both tests the cleanup was easy. I used soap and a soft cloth so as not to scratch the non-stick surface. Unfortunately this product isn’t dishwasher safe. But that’s not going to stop me from keeping a very useful tool.

I recommend getting two of these if you’re feeding more than two people. You can get yours through Amazon or just about anywhere that sells cookware.