Okay, you guys. I’ve been moving into my new house all week and I haven’t had a chance to get back to you about these wool dryer balls. But I’ve been able to do several loads of laundry in my new machines and I think I have a good feel for how these dryer balls from Mighty Nest work.

 

First, they’re heavy. They’re about the size of my fist. They’re soft. There are three of them. I assume you’re supposed to use all three at once, so that’s what I’ve been doing.

 

On drying time: I can’t tell if the balls shorten the drying cycle because my machine is brand new and I haven’t done a load without the balls. But if I stop the dryer with time left to spare (because I’m impatient and can’t wait ten minutes) everything is usually pretty well dried. So that’s a good sign, right?

 

On softness: My fabrics aren’t stiff. There’s that. I did a load of towels with white vinegar in the fabric softener tray and they came out fluffy. I’ll continue to assume the dryer balls helped with that.

 

On smell: There is none. That’s the point and that’s good.

 

On static: These wool balls do nothing to prevent static. In fact, I think they created static. The first load I did was with no white vinegar in the wash and I had to literally peel my clothes apart when they were dry. No big deal. I just have to remember the white vinegar every time. It’s still fragrance free and eco-friendly.

 

On noise: The balls made a lot of noise in the dryer drum when I had just one blanket in there. That was understandable. In a fuller load I could barely hear them. It wasn’t ever so bad that it bothered anybody. And I was probably the only one who noticed which means it could have been that I was hypersensitive being that I’m the one who put them in there.

 

Anyway, I think I’ll keep going with them and see how long they last. I have no reason not to.
